National CycloCross Championships Preview


National CycloCross Championships Preview 2013/14


John Mx


A weekend of National CycloCross Championship races


The weekend of January 11/12 sees a number of countries settle who will be their National CycloCross Champs.


A National CycloCross Championship title is a dream of many and if anyone has ever doubted it they only need to talk to current (for the second time) elite men’s champion Ian Field to see how much it meant to him – See Ian’s interview




The UK title is held over January 11 and 12 at Moorways in Derby, sponsored by Onimpex/Bioracer. The format is echoed across the cycling nations.


Based in the heartland of cyclocross, Helen Wyman (Kona / FSA ), defending champion Nikki Harris (Telenet Fidea) and Gabby Durrin ( Team Rapha-Focus) have all shown good form at the highest level this season and start favourites. National Trophy winner Hannah Payton is the most likely of the UK domiciled riders to challenge the continental stars. Helen Wyman after a long run of collecting championships jersey’s lost out to Nikki Harris in 2012/13 and this adds a little extra edge to the race.


In the Men’s Ian Field (Hargroves Cycles) starts as the number one favourite, but it’s a title race and the likes of Paul Oldham (Hope Factory Racing) willl lead as good a challenge he and the other UK based riders can muster.


Live streaming
There is live streaming most notably at the United States (where the snow has fallen), French and Belgian Championships. More steams may become available so check out the following links.


Livestreaming sites (no guarantees) (World Cup only) (Superprestige, Soudal Classic’s & others)




Hannah Payton


UK CycloCross Championships
January 11 and 12 at Moorways in Derby. It’s free to spectate and there is no race entry on the day.


9:30 am 40 mins Veteran Women’s Championship
11:00 am 40 mins Veteran Men 50+ Championship

12:15 pm 30 mins Youth Boys Under 14 Championship

12:15 pm 30 mins Youth Girls Under 14 Championship

1:15 pm 30 mins Youth Boys Under 16 Championship

1:15 pm 30 mins Youth Girls Under 16 Championship

2:30 pm 40 mins Veteran Men 40-49 Championship



10:15 am 50 mins Under-23 Men’s Championship

11:30 am 40 mins Junior Men’s Championship

12:45 pm 40 mins Women’s Championship

2:15 pm 60 mins Senior Men’s Championship


UK National CycloCross Championship Website




2012/13 Results/Video
What happened this time last year.


UK Champs



Elite Men
1 Ian Field
2 Ian Bibby
3 Dave Fletcher


Elite Women



1 Nikki Harris
2 Helen Wyman
3 Annie Last


Read More (Inc. Belgian title)>


Pages: 1 2

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

WP-Backgrounds Lite by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann 1010 Wien