2023 Owen Blower Memorial road race results

Lucy Lee of DAS-Handsling wins the ’23 Owen Blower Memorial road race.

The Owen Blower Memorial race is named after a local cycling legend. Owen was a regular competitor winning the coveted BBAR in 1958 and broke the 12-hour TT record with a distance of 271.809 miles. After a break from cycling, he returned to racing as a vet, again breaking records and inspiring others. Previously it had been run as a two-day stage race, but this edition was a one-day race held over seven laps of the Six Hill circuit near Loughborough. Winner Lucy Lee of DAS-Handsling was kind enough to give us her version of events.

The Owen Blower Memorial in Lucy’s words

Sunday’s Owen Blower Memorial road race was my 6th National B race this year and having been quite suceessful at this level I had a lot of confidence going into it. Racing in general has been mixed this year. I’ve been collecting good results in the UK, but with this being my first year a UCI level I’m still trying to find my feet in the bigger races.

Katie Scott took the QoM award at the the Owen Blower Memorial
Katie Scott took the QoM award at the the Owen Blower Memorial

I haven’t ridden this race before but had done enough research into the course and previous editions that I felt well prepared. The 15km lap was fast, with a short steep hill before a plateau to the finish.  

With just Katie Scott and myself representing DAS-Handsling and three elite teams sending full squads to the race we were definitely outnumbered. We expected the other teams to race aggressively and knew that being conservative and following moves was our best option for a result. We wanted to win the race and also take the queen of the mountain prize (A set of fancy hair straighteners!) so when a break of ten formed on the second lap we were pleased to both make the cut. All the big teams were represented and the group worked well to gain a five minute lead. I felt strong on the queen of the mountain and led Katie out each lap where she won maximum points.

Going into the final climb we decided that I would sit in the wheels and wait for the sprint. Katie did a great job chasing down a late attack allowing me to hide behind other teams up the final climb before sprinting to win ahead of Ellen McDermott and Frankie Hall. 

The Owen Blower Memorial podium
The Owen Blower Memorial podium

It was a great day out, lovely weather and extremely well organised. Thanks go to the organisers for putting on a women’s race on such a good course.

All photos courtesy of Bob McGregor

2023 Owen Blower Memorial road race full results

1 Lucy LeeSeniorDAS – Handsling Bikes
2 Ellen McDermottSeniorTeam Boompods
3 Francesca HallSeniorLoughborough Lightning
4 Suzetta GuerriniSeniorLe Col Race Team
5 Zoe LanghamSeniorPro-Noctis – Heidi Kjeldsen – 200 Degrees Coffee
6 Tamsin MillerSeniorHutchinson-Brother UK
7 Robyn ClayU23Pro-Noctis – Heidi Kjeldsen – 200 Degrees Coffee
8 Jayati HineSeniorTeam Boompods
9 Katie ScottU23DAS – Handsling Bikes
10 Ione JohnsonSeniorHutchinson-Brother UK
11 Amelia CebakJuniorTofauti Everyone Active
12 Charlotte Hodgkins-ByrneSeniorTeam Boompods
13 Sian BotteleySeniorHutchinson-Brother UK
14 Erin AvillU23Storey Racing
15 Nicola GreenwoodSeniorRFDA
16 Corinne SideSeniorPro-Noctis – Heidi Kjeldsen – 200 Degrees Coffee
17 Isabel DarvillSeniorTeam Spectra Cannondale
18 Bexy DewSeniorPro-Noctis – Heidi Kjeldsen – 200 Degrees Coffee
19 Lena KanSeniorStolenGoat Race Team
20 Bethany BennettJuniorJRC-INTERFLON Race Team
21 Charlotte DeykinSeniorPeterborough Cycle Hub
22 Mia RutterfordJuniorTofauti Everyone Active

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

WP-Backgrounds Lite by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann 1010 Wien