Lincoln to host 2015 National Road Champs


Lincoln to host 2015 National Road Champs


John Mx/PR


Road champs at home of the Lincoln GP


Lincolnshire will host the 2015 British Cycling National Road Championships.


The recommendation to award the championship to Lincolnshire was made by the British Cycling Road Commission and endorsed by the board of British Cycling.


Speaking about the announcement today, Jonny Clay, cycle sport and membership director at British Cycling, said: “In recent years the national road championships have become an iconic event on the cycling calendar bringing together a cast made up of globally recognised sportsmen and women.

“Each place that hosts the event stands on the shoulders of those that have hosted before and takes on the responsibility for further building the reputation of our championship.

“With the status of the Lincoln Grand Prix already clearly established on the domestic cycling calendar, Lincolnshire has all the ingredients for a superb championship and we look forward to visiting in 2015.”

Event organiser Ian Emmerson said: “We are obviously delighted to hear that British Cycling has accepted our bid to organise the 2015 British Cycling National Road Race and Time Trial Championships.”

Before attention turns to 2015, however, this year’s championships are still to be decided and they will take place in Monmouthshire between 26th and 29th June. Mark Cavendish and Lizzie Armitstead are defending champions in the road race while Alex Dowsett and Joanna Rowsell hold the time-trial titles.

Highlights from last year’s Lincoln GP, won by Pete Kennaugh


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

WP-Backgrounds Lite by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann 1010 Wien