Imperial Winter Circuit Series 6


Imperial Winter Circuit Series 6 2013/14


Imperial RT/Lucy Collins


Round six of the Hillingdon Imperial Winter Circuit Series


The sixth round of the Imperial Winter Series held at Hillingdon Cycle Circuit, West London on January 4 2014.


The 15th year of the series and sponsored by Imperial RT’s new London cycle shop.




The wind abated slightly but the rain threatened and persisted at times, although thankfully it remained mild. This year the weather and holiday season has not diminished the size or quality of the 4th cat fields and with the Ladies lining up alongside them provided an eager entry of 60+.




The wind again played a part shrinking the peloton progressively principally as a result of attacks mostly by a posse of London Dynamo riders – Alex Evangelidis, Henry Charrington and Francis Fox. However, the best move of the race came from Robin Mould (Velosport CC) who slipped away and rode alone for 4 km; sadly he succumbed but the run-in was frantic and the group was well strung out by Carrington, Mould and Christopher O’Hearn (Dulwich Paragon) leading out, but in the last 300 m from the bus stop Tom Pontin (Addiscombe CC) managed to get on their wheel and come round them to cross the line in first place with only 100ths separating the first 8 places. Kevin Chandler (Watford Velosport) and the two attackers Carrington and Mould finished 2nd, 3rd and 4th, the latter looking ready for the move up a category.


Daren Austin (Twickenham CC) in 22nd place wins the Imperial Cycles random prize and can look forward to his bike having a thorough spruce up at Imperial HQ in Isleworth!


imp6201314heliThe Elite race started in its usual pattern and promised to be an excellent race with all the usual protagonists stringing the group out, but after 12km an incident on the uphill section of the circuit caused the race to be neutralised initially and when the magnitude of it became clear, finally stopped.


It is always disappointing to have to abandon a race and the sense of frustration for both competitors and organisers is self-evident but safety remains the priority.




E 1 2 cat race
Race abandoned


3rd cat race
Race abandoned


4th cat race
Place No. Club
1st r155 Jonathan Pontin Addiscombe CC
2nd r 80 Kevin Chandler Watford Velo Sport
3rd r103 Henry Charrington London Dynamo
4th r101 Robin Mould Velosport CC
5th r 50 Ed Everett Unattached
6th r100 Huw Dymond Reading. CC
7th r 24 Clark Anderson Thames Velo
8th r161 Tom Black Unattached
9th r 66 Harry Bunnell Kingston Wheelers
10th r144 Ian Murray VC10
11th r162 Alexander Evangelidis London Dynamo
12th r159 Alex Woods Unattached
13th r 26 John Bull London Dynamo
14th r 98 Nick Davis Kingston Whls CC
15th r 28 Steven pellowe Hounslow District Wheelers
16th r 81 Andy Taylor London Dynamo
17th r153 Keith Chanter London Dynamo
18th r163 Andrew Ware Watford Velo Sport
19th r 85 Jason Braund Imperial College CC
20th r 43 Tom Herbert Kingston Wheelers
21st r 93 Robert Mosley Thames Velo
22nd r 51 Daren Austin Twickenham CC
23rd r 79 Francis Fox London Dynamo
24th r102 Ewan Evans Dorking CC
25th r 32 Ben Nichol Amersham RCC
26th r152 Alec Saunders Dulwich Paragon CC
27th r151 Elliot Brown VC Meudon
28th r147 Christopher OHearn Dulwich Paragon
29th r 76 Phil Barella Kingston Wheelers CC
30th r 39 Alan Nixon Amersham RCC
31st r 9 Robert Abbey Hemel Hempstead CC
32nd r 59 Massimo Saetta Kingston Wheelers
33rd r160 Richard Anderson Twickenham CC
34th r129 Mark Banks London Dynamo
35th r158 Jon Freeman Unattached
36th r 55 Tom Groom WyndyMilla
37th r 89 Thomas Mead-Herbert Watford Velo Sport
38th r156 Jonathan Gough Old Ports CC
39th r107 Arnav Kapur VCDC
40th r157 Jim Whewell London Dynamo
41st r 41 Tom O’Connell Velosport CC
42nd r 3 Andrew Deans London Dynamo
43rd r 47 Tim Childs Westerley CC
44th r136 Samual Dickinson Unattached
45th r111 Mark Stock Farnborough & Camberley CC
46th r 71 Michael Weekes London Dynamo
47th r 8 Clarice Chung Twickenham
48th r154 Peter Dalton London Dynamo
49th r 62 Jennifer Crouch London Dynamo
50th r 44 Elizabeth Dunne Wyndy Milla
51st r 17 Andrew Goulding Hounslow & District Wlrs
52nd r 74 Harriet Hollis Unattached
53rd r 13 Sally Stubbs Imperial Racing Team
54th r150 Nasima Siddiqui WyndyMilla
55th r141 Eng-Jon Ong Charlotteville CC
56th r 67 Keith Loveman Verulam CC
57th r 20 Martin Banfield London Dynamo
58th r 6 David Jack Loveman Verulam CC


Overall Series Leader Board (remains the same as Race 5)
1st w 8 Vincent Halpern Handsling racing 900
2nd w 29 Jake Martin Pedal Heaven RT 800
3rd w 6 Josh Jones Cambridge University CC 650
4th w 12 James Norris High Wycombe CC 600
5th w 20 Jo Skelton Look Mum No Hands! 490
6th w 7 Phil Holloway southend wheelers 460
7th w 30 Jerzy Kuzminski High Wycombe 450
8th w 15 Rory Townsend Pedal Heaven RT 370
9th w 24 Jacek Reder Unattached 310
10th w 16 Sam Humpheson Look mum no hands! 300
11th w 27 Joshua Mitchell Bicester Millenium 270
12th w 2 Tyler Lemmon Medway Velo 240
12th y 76 James Bradley Twickenham CC 240
14th w 18 Ben Sumner Beeline Bikes RT 200
15th w 38 Lawrence Carpenter Catford Equipe Banks 190
16th w 26 Dominic Clegg Redhill CC 180
17th w 36 Alexander King GPM10 Cycling 170
17th y 19 Luke Merrilees WyndyMilla 170
19th w 3 Jacob Nicholson Medway Velo 170
20th w 44 Si Cox NFTO 160


Imperial Winter Series Information


Imperial Cycles Workshop




You may also like...

Leave a Reply

WP-Backgrounds Lite by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann 1010 Wien