ANEXO/CAMS Women’s CiCLE Classic Results

Pictures and report from the 7th ANEXO/CAMS Women’s CiCLE Classic, first event of the Women’s National Road Race Series

After moving from its June slot to one in March, the ANEXO/CAMS Women’s CiCLE Classic has become a true spring classic. Starting and finishing in the home of the pork pie, Melton Mowbray, the route is a very Belgian one. It twists and turns to take in the four off-road sectors of Sawgate Lane, Somerberg, Manor Farm, and Newbold Manor. Added to those are three categorised climbs: Burrough Berg, Cold Overton Berg, and Cuckooberg.

Although the riders set off in the dry, the weather in the proceeding week had been wet. And to help churn up the off-road sectors the morning’s junior race, had been ridden in the rain. This meant riders would have to be careful to avoid flooded pot-holes and muddy tracks.

The bunch tackles the slippery roads of the 7th ANEXO /CAMS Women’s CiCLE Classic
The bunch tackles the slippery roads of the 7th ANEXO /CAMS Women’s CiCLE Classic

The break is away

The second time through Owston saw a break of eight escape the bunch. Making the split were Danni Shrosbree, Emma Jeffers, Monica Greenwood (DAS-Handsling), Tammy Miller, Sian Botteley (Hutchinson-Brother UK), Jo Tindley and Flora Perkins.

Sian Botteley (Hutchinson-Brother UK) took the sprint in Owston Village as eight became a group of six. DAS-Handsling had lost Shrosbree to a mechanical, while Jeffers had dropped off the pace. Heading over the finish line for the first time Tindley took the sprint in Melton, winning a giant pork pie!

Beer and pork-pie for Jo Tindley!

Heading back in to Melton Mowbray for the final time, Finney outdistanced the others with a powerful acceleration and held on to take the win. Greenwood (DAS-Handsling) took second with Flora Perkins (Fenix-Deceuninck Development Team) third and first U23 rider. Jo Tindley (Pro-Noctis – Heidi Kjeldsen – 200 Degrees Coffee) came in fourth, adding a Kwaremont beer to her pork pie by winning the Queen of the Bergs competition. DAS-Handsling won the ‘Team of the Race’ competition.

As the winner Finney received the Dame Laura Kenny trophy and £1000 in prize money, donated by Dame Kenny herself. The race’s future was uncertain when its main sponsor pulled out, but with sponsorship from the Anexo Group and the former multi-Olympic medal winner, the CiCLE Classic is safe until at least 2025.

All smiles on the 7th ANEXO/CAMS Women’s CiCLE Classic podium

With this win Jessica Finney (AWOL Shea) heads the 2023 National Road Series. DAS-Handsling have a five-point advantage over Pro-Noctis – Heidi Kjeldsen – 200 Degrees Coffee in the team competition Next round is the Rapha Lincoln Grand Prix, East Midlands on Sunday 14 May.

DAS-Handsling win the teamm competition at the ANEXO/CAMS Women’s CiCLE Classic
DAS-Handsling win the teamm competition at the ANEXO/CAMS Women’s CiCLE Classic

Jessica Finney becomes the early leader of the 2023 National Road Series. Perkins leads the under-23 competition, while DAS-Handsling have a five-point advantage over Pro-Noctis – Heidi Kjeldsen – 200 Degrees Coffee in the team competition. The Rapha Lincoln Grand Prix is the next round of the Series on Sunday 14 May.

All photos courtesy of Bob MacGregor and Hugh McManus.

Photo Gallery

Full results

Rank#Name Team Time
111Jessica FinneyAWOL OShea2:51:43
222Monica GreenwoodDAS – Handsling Bikesst
3102Flora Perkins (U23)Fenix-Deceuninck Development Teamst
473Jo TindleyPro-Noctis – Heidi Kjeldsen – 200 Degrees Coffee+3
538Sian BotteleyHutchinson – Brother UK+4
642Tamsin MillerHutchinson – Brother UK+12
729Emma Jeffers (U23)DAS – Handsling Bikes+2:36
86Eilidh Shaw (U23)Alba Development Road Teamst
966Robyn Clay (U23)Pro-Noctis – Heidi Kjeldsen – 200 Degrees Coffeest
10112Josie KnightTeam Spectra Cannondalest
1187Mary WilkinsonTeam Boompodsst
1267Bexy DewPro-Noctis – Heidi Kjeldsen – 200 Degrees Coffeest
13111Ella Maclean-Howell (U23)Team Inspiredst
1454Eline SmitLAKA Pedal Mafia RTst
1527Danielle ShrosbreeDAS – Handsling Bikesst
1668Lucy Ellmore (U23)Pro-Noctis – Heidi Kjeldsen – 200 Degrees Coffee+2:41
1774Ella Barnwell (U23)Saint Piran WRT+6:14
1859Francesca HallLoughborough Lightningst
1928Sammie StuartDAS – Handsling Bikesst
20104Georgina OakleyINFLITE Femme+6:16
2112Francesca Morgans-SladerAWOL OSheast
2293Amelia Cebak (JNR)Tofauti Everyone Activest
2346Skye DavidsonJadan Vive le Velo p/b Glasdonst
2469Amy GornallPro-Noctis – Heidi Kjeldsen – 200 Degrees Coffeest
2515Lotty Dawson (JNR)Brother UK – Orientation Marketingst
2680Charlotte Hodgkins-ByrneTeam Boompodsst
2782Sian MarshTeam Boompodsst
2845Sannah Zaman (U23)Hutchinson – Brother UKst
2988Isabel DarvillTeam Spectra Cannondalest
3026Katie Scott (U23)DAS – Handsling Bikes+6:22
319Kelly MurphyAWOL OShea+12:33
322Sophie EneverAlba Development Road Team+1 Lap
3383Ellen McDermottTeam Boompods+1 Lap
3470Corinne SidePro-Noctis – Heidi Kjeldsen – 200 Degrees Coffee+1 Lap
3571Millie SkinnerPro-Noctis – Heidi Kjeldsen – 200 Degrees Coffee+1 Lap
3698Kim BaptistaAyr Roads Cycling Club+1 Lap
3785Keri PartonTeam Boompods+1 Lap
3884Gemma MitchellTeam Boompods+1 Lap
3956Lucy Neatham (U23)LDN-Academy+1 Lap
40109Olivia FrenchStolenGoat+1 Lap
411Daisy BarnesAlba Development Road Team+1 Lap
4253Rebecca HairLAKA Pedal Mafia RT+1 Lap
433Arianne HollandAlba Development Road Team+1 Lap
4421Lotta Mansfield (U23)Brother UK – Orientation Marketing+1 Lap
45110Erin Avill (U23)Storey Racing+1 Lap
4643Polly MilsomHutchinson – Brother UK+1 Lap
4Amelia Tyler (U23)Alba Development Road TeamDNF
5Beth MaciverAlba Development Road TeamDNF
7Victoria SmithAlba Development Road TeamDNF
10Libby Smithson (U23)AWOL OSheaDNF
13Maddie Wadsworth (U23)AWOL OSheaDNF
16Harriet GrahamBrother UK – Orientation MarketingDNF
17Harriet EvansBrother UK – Orientation MarketingDNF
18Hope Inglis (JNR)Brother UK – Orientation MarketingDNF
19Millie Jenkins (JNR)Brother UK – Orientation MarketingDNF
20Mia Smith (JNR)Brother UK – Orientation MarketingDNF
23Lucy LeeDAS – Handsling BikesDNF
24Sophie Lewis (U23)DAS – Handsling BikesDNF
31Maddie HeywoodFTP – Fulfil The Potential – RacingDNF
34Sian ReynoldsFTP – Fulfil The Potential – RacingDNF
35Sasha SmithFTP – Fulfil The Potential – RacingDNF
36Vivienne TomlinFTP – Fulfil The Potential – RacingDNF
37Rosie WaylandFTP – Fulfil The Potential – RacingDNF
40Samantha FawcettHutchinson – Brother UKDNF
41Heather MayerHutchinson – Brother UKDNF
44Lydia WattsHutchinson – Brother UKDNF
47Kirstie Drakeford (U23)Jadan Vive le Velo p/b GlasdonDNF
48Lola Ellis (JNR)Jadan Vive le Velo p/b GlasdonDNF
49Grace NormanJadan Vive le Velo p/b GlasdonDNF
51Penny ColloffLAKA Pedal Mafia RTDNF
52Anouska GreenawayLAKA Pedal Mafia RTDNF
55Eleanor Bolton (U23)LDN-AcademyDNF
57Natasha ReddyLDN-AcademyDNF
58Madeleine GammonsLoughborough LightningDNF
60Amber HardingLoughborough LightningDNF
61Roisin Lally (U23)Loughborough LightningDNF
64Morgan NewberryLoughborough Lightning

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

WP-Backgrounds Lite by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann 1010 Wien